When I read through the chapters for this week’s assigned reading, I noticed a lot of overlap with what I had been taught in my contemporary art history class, especially chapter 13. Most of the time I didn’t have to even look at the image to know what they were referring to. In chapter 14, my eye was caught by the poster work of Ludwig Hohlwein. (Images 14-31, 14-33) In the clothing poster, I really love the use of the patterns for the mens’ clothes, and the way they fill in the space of the clothing but don’t fold or fit to the mens’ bodies, giving a very 2-D looking effect. To have these handsome prints added to the drawing that was made to look contoured and 3-D is a striking effect .I also really love the way he color-blocked the shadows on the wounded soldiers’ face and jacket. It is such a bold line, but it really has an emotional life-like look to it. He was a very talented artist, and I can see how his affiliation with Hitler hurt his career.

Metropolis Movie Poster, 1927- Schultz-Neumann. Image credit to allposters.co.uk

Metropolis Movie Poster, 1927- Schultz-Neumann. Image credit to allposters.co.uk

Another image that I was really dazzled by is the Metropolis poster by Schulz-Neudamm. It just screams art-deco, 1930’s. I can also see where a lot of things may have gotten their reference from. For example, lets pick the most obvious one: not the city of Metropolis, but it’s sister city, the city of Gotham. The town depicted in the modern-day Batman animated series looks incredibly similar to the one in the metropolis poster. Take a look for yourself. The second possible inspiration I thought of immediately was C3PO from star wars- take a look- The color, the band around the head, the point at the top and the nubs sticking out for ears…The things this poster has inspired have created legacies of their own.
Gotham Cityscape created for Batman: the Animated Series. Image Credit: scoop.diamondgalleries.com

Gotham Cityscape created for Batman: the Animated Series. Image Credit: scoop.diamondgalleries.com

C3PO, Image Credit to collectibles.bidstart.com

C3PO, Image Credit to collectibles.bidstart.com

