Wow, who would have thought that two chapters could contain so many enticing things? When I took 2-D design, we had to do an Art-Nouveau-Inspired project by creating our own stamps in natural plantlike shapes that looked like they belonged to Art Nouveau.

An example of my work

An example of my work

What it really was though, was arts-and-crafts inspired, like the images on page 170 of our textbook. Because of this experience, I thought that Art Nouveau wasn’t that great, but the images in our book are gorgeous! 🙂 I have a collection of the posters with the cats on them, like the Chat Noir (11-28) and the milk advertisement. (11-30) My favorite one I have is this one by Adolphe Leon Willette:

Exposition poster, Adolphe Willette, Image credit to martinlawrence.com

Exposition poster, Adolphe Willette, Image credit to martinlawrence.com

I was also fascinated by the images from the publication Ver Sacrum. The page layouts and attention to detail and the way the text blends with the overall look of the page is really mesmerizing. I would love to have a copy of one of the issues to hold in my hands and look through. I also think that the square layout was ingenious. It was unique and it really worked. I love how it really allows for perfect symmetry and harmony. In one image (11-29) , the figures look very contemporary. I could see them fitting in to a fashion publication perfectly. I love the fact that all of the different issues and articles in this magazine were so unique in their design and content and subject matter. It is really creative, a wellspring of inspiration. When can I get my copy!? Haha.

Josef Hoffmann, Women Bookplate, printed in Ver Sacrum 1903. Image credit to exlibris-austria.com

Josef Hoffmann, Women Bookplate, printed in Ver Sacrum 1903. Image credit to exlibris-austria.com

Another thing that really struck a chord with me were the simplified, black-and-white, planar women in images by Aubrey Beardsley and Josef Hoffman such as (11-20) and (12-31) Something about them is so evocative about their frame, even though the forms are very simplified. The intuitive lines are really powerful at getting the point across through simplicity in execution. Finally, I also wanted to talk about the artist Jessie Marion King. You can see a sample of his work  (12-5) on page 224 in the textbook. I love the delicate, frenzied lines that evoke a sense of tangled romance, of wilting but stayed women. I read a manga called Bizenghast, and every page is like a fairy tale of these elements, with a Victorian morbidity. These types of images really appeal to me.

Bizenghast Book 1 Cover. Image Credit to gallery.minitokyo.net

Bizenghast Book 1 Cover. Image Credit to gallery.minitokyo.net

Ballroom Scene, Bizenghast Image Credit to MangaFox.com

Ballroom Scene, Bizenghast Image Credit to MangaFox.com

Jessie Marion King, image from High History of the Holy Graal. image credit to nocloo.com

Jessie Marion King, image from High History of the Holy Graal. image credit to nocloo.com

